Email Us  888.777.8881
Hall of Fame

The Iowa Senior Games Hall of Fame was established in 2006 (the 20th anniversary of the Iowa Senior Games) to recognize and honor outstanding athletic performances by our senior athletes, as well as outstanding contributions made to the success of the Iowa Senior Games by athletes, board members and volunteers. What is a “Senior Athlete”? A senior athlete is someone, male or female, who trains and competes in a variety of events with their age group peers. Many may not feel that they have the capacity or the ability to participate in senior athletics. However, at the senior level there are events that are suitable for almost anyone who has the interest and wants to challenge themselves, through competition with their peers, to improve their health, and have fun. Although, there are many who have been participating for several years, like our Hall of Fame Inductees, a significant number do start in their sixth, seventh, or even eighth decades. The late Dr. George Sheehan, who was the prototype senior athlete, stated that, “the memorable thing is not how you compete against others, but how you compete against yourself”. This creed is held not only by our Hall of Fame Inductees, but also by many of the athletes who train and compete at a senior level.  

As is often quoted, “we don’t stop playing because we are old, but we become old because we stop playing.” For these individuals, how true that is.

To nominate a participant for the Iowa Senior Games Hall of Fame, download the Hall of Fame nominations form.

2017 Hall of Fame Class

Year by Year
2017 Hall of Fame

Ann Shuman, West Des Moines, IA
Joe Bohlke, Des Moines, IA

2016 Hall of Fame
Wayne & Ruth Hugen, Des Moines, IA
Bill Park, Muscatine, IA
Alan Schenck, Clarinda, IA

2015 Hall of Fame
Tarry Cory, Urbandale, IA
Kay Glynn, Hastings, IA
George Long, Urbandale, IA

2014 Hall of Fame
Tony Denkinger, Johnston, IA
Rich Hoidahl, Johnston, IA

Curt McCormick, Des Moines, IA
Otto Welfring, Marshalltown, IA

2013 Hall of Fame
Tom Little, Knoxville, IA
Carroll Marty,  Ames, IA
Ron Peterson, Waukee, IA
Mike Schaumburg, West Des Moines, IA

2012 Hall of Fame 
Darrell Mitchell, Marshalltown, IA
Denise Miller, Vail, IA
Don Zimmer, West Des Moines, IA

2011 Hall of Fame 
Bob Thompson, Des Moines, IA
Nancy Baker, Clive, IA
Lee Kane, Urbandale, IA

2010 Hall of Fame 
Judy Chadima, Cedar Rapids, IA
Mel Larson, Ames, IA
Dan Teran, West Des Moines, IA

2009 Hall of Fame 
Betty Hoff, Decorah, IA

Fred Bankus, Pella, IA
Ken Clark, Urbandale, IA

2008 Hall of Fame
Frank Brown, Des Moines, IA
Norm Robinson, Knoxville, IA
Dorothy Whitehead, Indianola, IA

2007 Hall of Fame
Dick Fidler, West Des Moines, IA
James Kempkes, Urbandale, IA
Harold McCollum, West Des Moines, IA
Dick Pertzborn, Ankeny, IA

2006 Hall of Fame
Keith Baker, Des Moines, IA
Carolyn Dodd, Des Moines, IA
Ed Failor, West Des Moines, IA
Margaret McCollum, West Des Moines, IA
Adolph Peshke, West Des Moines, IA

Gold Sponsors

Interested in becoming a sponsor?  CLICK HERE to contact us.

City of West Des Moines Polk County Iowa Principal Financial Group West Des Moines Community Schools Hy-Vee MidAmerican Energy Pella Corporation Central Iowa Honda Dealers